Moving on from YA?

Nine Lives-2

When I was in primary school and early high school, I read anything and everything – historical fiction, crime, horror and the occasional YA. YA back then wasn’t as popular as it is now. When I was in high school, the only YA books I knew of were the Princess Diaries series, Sarah Dessen’s standalone contemporaries, Twilight and the Uglies series. I fell in love with Twilight in 2007, but it wasn’t until 2011 that I started actively reading YA. In 2011, I randomly stumbled upon Fallen by Lauren Kate and 16 year old me fell madly in love with the main character Daniel. From then on, I began to read anything that featured supernatural characters – angels, vampires, werewolves, you name it. Paranormal Romance was big back then and I was certainly satisfied. Then from 2012 onwards my reading tastes jumped to a thirst for Dystopian YA (Article 5, Shatter Me) and in 2013, my reading preferences changed to contemporary/NA. 

I started blogging in 2011 when I was 16 years old. My favourite books featured hot main leads, a damsel in distress as the main female lead (although later I realised books featuring strong, kickass females were a lot more exciting), a love triangle where it was exceedingly transparent who the girl would eventually end up with. Some of my favourite books back then were:

  • The Vampire Academy
  • The Mortal Instruments
  • The Infernal Devices
  • The Iron Fey
  • Hush Hush series
  • Twilight
  • Half- Blood series

Since 2017 I’ve noticed that I’ve become exceedingly more picky about the YA books that I decide to read. This had happened before in 2013 when I felt I had “outgrown” YA novels and turned to NA as I connected more with the characters, environment and storylines but I would always return to YA when I ran out of NA books to read. Now, it doesn’t matter if everyone on twitter is raving about a particular YA book, if the first page doesn’t instantly grab my attention then it’s game over. I’m a lot less patient with YA now; they’re either a hit or miss for me. 

On the other hand, I’m a lot more lenient in selecting non-YA books to read and certainly more patient when reading them. Even if the first chapter isn’t immediately grabbing my attention, I’m more than happy to keep reading until the end. I’ve always been a massive fan of crime fiction and psychological thrillers/suspense but had to put those genres on the backburner when I started my YA book blog. I’m glad now I have more time to dedicate to the world of mysteries, thrillers and cold-blooded killings.

I’m currently reading Halfway to the Grave and it has brought back fond memories of love my for paranormal romance. I’m hoping now I can dedicate more time to reading the likes of Stephen King, Agatha Christi, Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir and other authors I find along the way!

Leave a Reply

